How to mute someone on Instagram Does it get notification?
We adore social networks, it is not a lie for anyone and even more at this time that we have many friends and family far or abroad, social networks allow us to keep in touch with all people ( not necessarily the ones we know in people) we can see their photos on a trip, make a group video call with your friends, see that plate of food that was served to a user in a luxurious restaurant, among all the things that can be seen.
We are fully describing one of the favorite applications today and it is Instagram, what better application to be able to share your moments and experiences not only in a post that lasts on your profile forever, but also in a story that lasts 24 hours or do something a little more fun with a Reel. This favoritism is due to the fact that it is available on all platforms, and its functionalities as well, so you can learn how to upload and publish photos on Instagram from PC.
What is Instagram?
Instagram is an application created to share publications of all kinds in image or video format mainly on your profile, which is the first thing a person sees if they look for you on their Instagram, although it has the options to share a story where you can be more creative, you can put its famous filters, effects, add a little text, add a musical background or draw on images or videos. This App is used by Social Media Managers, since you can learn to program your publications for free.
The platform is very striking since it also counts as a messaging system, where you can chat with your followers or also with users that you do not follow or do not follow you. This App can be downloaded free for Windows / PC.
In addition, it allows you to share your publications so that your followers can see, like, comment or share the post with other people if they wish. Some people seek to be famous in this application , so they are always focused on knowing how to get more views in stories.
Among the latest updates, the application has new options and one of them is that allows you to silence a person. The idea of the new function is that it allows us to stop seeing someone else’s publications user when it is muted.
However, there is a question that worries many viewers and that is if when someone is silenced, can that person realize it? o Does Instagram send a notification to the user that I have silenced? Don’t worry, in this article we will tell you the truth about this new option and how to silence someone.
What happens if I silence someone on Instagram?
When we want to silence a person, the platform gives us three options, if we want to silence the stories, if we want to silence only their profile publications, or if we want to silence both. Several users tend to silence only the stories since it is what we visit most frequently, on the other hand the posts are not so followed.
There are many reasons for wanting to silence someone from your Instagram , it is something completely normal and that has happened to more than one person, either for personal reasons or that simply cannot be stopped go ahead and go.
Do you receive any notification?
When you have silenced the stories, notifications or messages of a user on your Instagram, this person will not receive any message notifying that such action has been taken. Only you will be able to see and know it, plus you can easily reverse this option. But Instagram allows you to keep it for as long as you consider necessary.
Steps to silence a person on Instagram
From a post: open your Instagram application and find the posts of the user you want to mute. Then it will show us a pop-up window where several options will appear and in the last one it says ‘silence’. Select silence and another window will appear with the options of ‘silence publications’ ‘silence publications and stories’ press the one you want and that’s it.
From the profile: you must look for the profile of the person you want to hide your feed , when you are in the profile click on ‘next’ and then on ‘mute’, then you will see two options for separately and you can activate the one you want: mute posts or stories.
There is nothing to worry about, the platform will not send any notification to the person, nor is there any way that they can find out that you silenced them. You should know that if you want to reactivate the silenced account, you can do so Also, if you want to see photos of that person, go to their profile and voila, the option will simply not show you their publications in your feed.
Silence only the stories
So that the history of a user does not appear in your Instagram feed you must first go to the profile of this person; then press on the three vertical points located in the upper right corner, there you will get several options: mute post, mute stories, mute both options and cancel.
When you are at this point, then you must select the alternative you consider; but if it is about the stories, then you limit yourself and choose this option and voila, it will be activated immediately in your account.
Silence only private messages
If you consider that a person writes you inappropriate messages or you belong to a chat group that does not provide very frequent relevant information but you do not want to get out of it; then the solution is to silence these chats that interrupt or annoy you. To be able to do this, follow the following steps:
- Open your Instagram and go to the direct or messages tab
- Find the chat or group that you are going to mute and open it
- Then you must go to where the name of the user or group appears (right in the middle of the top)
- Details and two options will appear here: ‘mute messages’ and ‘mute video calls’
- You choose the appropriate one or both, press the button for each one and voila, you will not receive messages from this person or group
Can I reactivate a silenced account?
To reactivate an account that we have silenced, the process is very similar to how it can be silenced. Here we will explain with some simple instructions what you must do to unmute an account.
- Search your Instagram for the profile of the person you have silenced
- You click on the 3 vertical dots in the right corner
- There you open the option to mute
- The mute options will appear activated, so you press the button and that’s it
- In this way the account is reactivated and the settings will be saved
If you already have the stories of an account on your Instagram muted and you want to revert the operation again, you will see that in your feed you cannot open the stories of this person, but it does appear there, with a color tone more opaque than the original of the profile photo (this means that it is muted).
Therefore, you should hold down the photo of this person to whom you have restricted their stories from appearing; derived from this, a drop-down menu will appear with the options of ‘view profile’ and ‘reactivate’ ; choose this last alternative and voila, you will be able to see her stories again.
How to know if I was silenced on Instagram
There is no single method that is very effective when it comes to knowing if you were silenced by another Instagram user. However, we will give you some recommendations that you can apply to rule out whether or not you were silenced.
First you must suspect that a person has silenced you when notifications, messages, tags from this person do not reach you , then you must resort to certain ways to confirm the suspicion. To do this, go to this person’s profile and see if you can see their stories and posts normally.
You can also try sending messages or making a video call from the chat, if it takes time to answer or not, it is very likely that you have been silenced. In addition to this, you can try to tag the person in a publication or in your stories, if you see that they do not react or comment, the most likely thing is that you are muted for this account .